April 1, 2009

Below is a list of 12 Senators: the Dirty Dozen.

These 12 Senators are the ones who are leading the charge to force new nuclear reactors on the American public, regardless of the costs, regardless of the dangers, regardless of the lethal radioactive waste these reactors would create, regardless of the plentiful safer, cleaner, cheaper energy sources available.

They are the ones who are this week pushing amendments to President Obama’s FY 2010 budget, trying to pave the way for more taxpayer subsidies for new nuclear reactors later this year.

They are the ones who tried to get $50 billion in taxpayer loan guarantees for new reactors in February–but they were defeated then.

And they can be defeated now–with your help.

Pick up the phone and call your Senators, and tell them to vote against any and all amendments (and there are a number of them) to the budget bill that would provide subsidies for nuclear power. Capitol Switchboard: 202-224-3121.

And if your Senator is listed below, you might want to call him (this list is all men) and give him a piece of your mind:  tell him to try representing his constituents for once instead of the nuclear power industry!

If you haven’t yet sent an e-mail to your Senators, please do so here.

If you have sent your e-mail, forward this Alert to five of your friends and ask them to contact their Senators as well.

Votes on these amendments are likely to begin tonight (appropriately, April Fool’s Day, in honor of the fools pushing nuclear technology), and continue throughout the day Thursday and perhaps Friday.

We know we’ve been asking a lot of you already this year. That’s because the nuclear industry is getting desperate, and they’re doing everything they can to get more of your money, since they can’t raise any of their own. We thank you for all your activism and action, and we hope you’ll keep it up now and throughout the year.

And we also thank you for your contributions to support this campaign to stop taxpayer subsidies for new nuclear reactors. We’re only able to do this with your help: if you haven’t made a small donation yet, please do so now. Your support is very gratefully appreciated.

Thanks for all you do,

Michael Mariotte

Executive Director

Nuclear Information and Resource Service


Sen Barrasso, John [R-WY]
Sen Bennett, Robert F. [R-UT]
Sen Brownback, Sam [R-KS]
Sen Cornyn, John [R-TX]
Sen Enzi, Michael B. [R-WY]
Sen Graham, Lindsey [R-SC]
Sen Hatch, Orrin G. [R-UT]
Sen Inhofe, James M. [R-OK]
Sen Risch, James E. [R-ID]
Sen Vitter, David [R-LA]
Sen Voinovich, George V. [R-OH]
Sen McCain, John, [R-AZ]



One Response

  1. This blog’s great!! Thanks :).

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: