DEC adopting new tribe policy

Please read article, cited after the quote. Articles open in a new window.

The state Department of Environmental Conservation has a new policy to consult with Indian nations on a government-to-government basis whenever the department is taking action that may affect the tribes’ interests.

The broad policy specifically notes environmental and cultural resources and cites one of its major objectives “to set up better protocols and mechanisms for consultation and communication, which are welcome under this administration,” adding that “the prior administration kept a tight reign on all agency communications with the nations.”

The policy lists the Mohawk, Oneida, Onondaga, Cayuga, Seneca, Tonawanda Seneca, Tuscarora, Unkechaug and Shinnecock tribes recognized by the state.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: